Journal

13 Nov

I woke up thinking it was Sunday, it’s Monday.

I’m killing myself with sugar. I stopped drinking three years ago and replaced alcohol with sugar.

When I got sick, I gained 10 pounds a year from 1997 to 2007. I got the money for Lapband, and lost about half of it. But over the last year or so, I put it all back on plus. Since, I have figured out that Lapband works long-term for people who are not addicts. I am an addict.

Almighty Creator, who had the grace to create me with the ability to learn, help me learn–through meditation, study and experience– the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
the courage to change the things I can and
the wisdom to know the difference. My daily mantra.

Mostly it has to do with other people and how I react to them. When I can accept someone for who they are and base my expectations of them on that, it makes for serenity. And with serenity comes the ability to deal with people without anger or frustration. So easy to say, but so difficult to live by.

I still find it amazing how much news time is being spent on the General Petraeus story. One bit I heard today actually discussed how differently the story would be handled by the French.

That’s it for today.

Cornerstones: Serenity, Courage, Wisdom

Leave a comment